Odd Encounters 1

“How are you?”

That moment. We all get it. That split second where that earnest face asking you this question is completely unrecognizable. The inside of your head turns into a pack of panicked hamsters, all desperately trying to get out, get away. For a moment, a montage of everyone I have ever known runs through my head. I am trying to pick his face out. But I have no idea who he is.

“I’m good.” I say. “How’re you?”

“Okay lang.” In my language, the word lang is non-committal. It’s like an afterthought. It means that’s it but its nuances are legion. To say okay lang means that you are a giant piece of meh. 

After that revealing piece of information, he walked away. Having nothing else to do, I did the same.

2 thoughts on “Odd Encounters 1

be irrelevant!

